top of page
Search

Interview Jitters

Although many people are confident when it comes to interviews, some let their anxiety and nerves get the better of them. I find that I have lacked confidence when approaching interviews because I am an overthinker. I have a constant battle with myself and panic; even when I say to myself that it is a small stepping stone towards my future or something that will be fine no matter what the outcome is, I will worry about it beforehand all the way until it's over.


This is how I felt over an interview for a PGCE Teacher Training Course at the University of Chester, I was feeling overwhelmed when having to provide a portfolio to the interview that would last only 20 minutes on my part when presenting it. Although I was confident in talking and showcasing my work, I was flustered thinking it wasn't good enough or the presentation was no to a professional standard.


I just went on a whim and decided to contact my lecturer in hopes of discussing my concerns further, I emailed in regards to the stress I was building up and didn't know a way to get out of it.

You will think that it was only an interview, so why feel that way? The interview was enough pressure with everything else going on in the world, but it wasn't just that. I was upfront and honest with my tutor (my way of coping and dealing with issues and concerns is being honest in a professional and considerate way, some may say that I am overly honest. I don't care, it is how I deal with things) Instead of leaving expressing my concerns to the lecturer near the end of the course and panicking over it, during the teams meeting, I just told him everything. How I felt I was behind on all modules, how I don't understand how to do this blog, my worries about failing or getting a bad grade. Letting all this stress out helped me a lot! not just with the workload when being fed back advice and guidance, but also with the interview. It felt like a weight was lifted off of my shoulders because I have been holding on to all of this anxiety when I didn't need to.

I was still nervous about the interview and it is ok! It is normal to feel overwhelmed, flustered and panicked, it is how you deal with it and accept it that will change the outcome to whatever it is you are worried over. I found that shutting off certain things in my mind worked, for example, forgetting about all my modules until the interview was over, putting aside the worries of developing my work on time or reaching all deadlines. I was concentrating on too many things which heightened all of the anxiety, instead, I just put my sole attention on my portfolio and interview and it worked. I got accepted! I wasn't just honest with my lecturer but also with the interviewer, I told her how I was feeling before the interview and how I have been honest to my lecturer and that is how I would be with her.


Having respect for others will not get you anywhere if you have not got respect for yourself, you need to deal with your anxiety and nerves, Accept them and accept support from others too. I feel better knowing I have balance in my work and lifestyle rather than trying to juggle everything at once with no organisation.


Keywords I would consider and keep in mind would be; Honesty, Organisation, Balance, Acceptance, Time and Anxiety.

It's ok, to be honest about how you are doing with work and in general (people will respect you more if you be open about not doing something as planned, putting aside a workload due in and expressing the stress you are under due to your own mistakes etc)

You may feel as though you are not organised but you could be more organised than you thing, you need to stop underestimating yourself.

Balance and Acceptance, you will have both when you take things at a slow pace and concentrate on one thing at a time, you will never have balance if you are stressed over everything at once and you will never have acceptance if you are flustered and feel low of yourself, accepting yourself and your worries, concerns and skills are vital before having other accept you.

Time is crucial, you may feel lazy one day (that's ok) you may not feel up to doing your essay or cleaning your room (that's ok) but managing time and planning will keep your mind healthy and encourage you to become motivated (make that a goal)

Anxiety is ok!! you will always be anxious over things in future that hasn't happened yet, it is normal but it is how you manage it that will be good or bad. Take things one at a time and slowly, think about things but not overthink and stress. If you need support, guidance and advice on anything, speak to your lecturer or anyone that is there.


I know this is a very long blog post but I hope it helps anyone that comes across it :)



16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

BA (Hons) Fine Art Degree

I wanted to briefly highlight my experiences and thoughts throughout the three years of my study at the University of Chester. At the start of the first year, I was worried and confused, I had 0 confi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page