top of page
Search

I have so many ideas but am unsure on what to do?

I was overwhelmed with the idea that after discovering 'my' area in expertise within fine art and something to develop in, that all would be lost once my third year in university is finalised. At the start of this degree, I was confused, irritated and curious as to why specific things like drying plaster in a plastic bag and bending it in a weird angle, had any relevance or structural guide into my future. Until you aspire to the degree and work with others, you will feel confused and flustered because you are slightly out of your comfort zone.


You are there to learn new techniques that some, you won't be eager to do again, but others you will want to eat up and throw in future projects, maybe ones in which you are collaborating with others.


I was enduring a battle in my mind about where I go from here? how do I continue exploring my operations in fine art or any other degree? Do I need to look for a part-time job? How to a work towards becoming a teacher? Do I want to work within secondary education, primary or maybe higher education and become a lecturer? It is scary! You have soooo many questions and soooo many possibilities, who's to say you cannot explore several of them?


I am an artist who once gave up on the creative industry because I felt as though I was not good enough, I got told I wasn't and that the money won't be enough to support me. I went on to qualify in becoming a hairdresser, which to be honest, I am glad I did! The reason why is because I still managed to be educated in a creative role without realising it. I enjoyed hairdressing because it was like painting (with hair colour) and cutting areas out (graduation cut) and even styling in ambiguous, textural and big ways (wedding and themed hairstyles). Qualifying in my third year encouraged me to get back into art, learn various skills that will amplify in my creative fields, thus bringing me to my final year in my degree.


Collaborating with other students brought out my confidence on a whole different level, although you can still be nervous, you have to push yourself and the ideas keep flowing and flowing and flowing. Taking part in workshops where you consider the use of your own body to manipulate your composition excites you and makes taking part in a degree or any creative educational sector worth it.


All of these experiences outlined my passion for art, my passion for the creative industry and my passion for helping others find their interests and who they are.


Another important thing to mention is time, I've said it in previous posts and I will say it again. If you are unsure about the direction to go in for your career, wait, take your time and don't rush into it. You can make mistakes and some can be fixed easily, you need to think carefully and find what your passion is first and know that you will give it your all before you commit to something you may be unsure of.


If you are a creative person then embrace it! challenge yourself and work with others. Don't waste time by letting opportunities go when they arise. That is not saying you cannot be allowed to feel unmotivated on occasional days, just don't let these days take over your ambitions and sense of direction. Take care of yourself and thrive in whatever you are determined to see through :)


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

BA (Hons) Fine Art Degree

I wanted to briefly highlight my experiences and thoughts throughout the three years of my study at the University of Chester. At the start of the first year, I was worried and confused, I had 0 confi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page