top of page
Search

Why take part in workshops?

Workshops that are related to your college and university are great, being able to participate and collaborate with other students is refreshing and fun. However, you can explore other workshops :)


I have been on an amazing and creative journey in my third year at the University of Chester, being able to research a topic that is within my interest and that I could have minimal limits in which direction to go has become thrilling. The help and support of the tutors have become vital, without their ideas and influences I wouldn't be producing my own pieces that show strength, empowerment and improvisation!


Recently one of my tutors emailed me a link that related to several workshops that you can pay and take part in. With her knowledge and understanding of my project, I appreciated her help in finding out about this because I will go back and take part in as many as I can. It only cost £10 (I know few might find that a lot, especially when you are a student or have a budget but it is worth it) It related so close to what my project entailed and I just thought what the heck? I might as well give it a try and it can link well towards my research within the project.


I am so happy with the results and I had an amazing experience! it was refreshing and enjoyable to be able to work with others, even from the comfort of my own room. I was able to produce several drawings in a matter of 2 hours when normally my lack of motivation would prevent this amount of work.


This workshop was through the website 'Toast' and I highly recommend any creative person to explore this and push yourself out of your comfort zone. You may think that you don't need to experience it or that you are fine doing things on your own but isn't that boring? Of course, working independently can be great and a good skill but you NEED to try and work with others, it encourages and develops the creative thinking and the workshops will further improve this.


I don't regret taking part in the workshops because it has helped with my confidence, passion and working with others. If you are an art student then this is something that is vital to your course, you need to work with others for constructive criticism and ideas you never thought to consider or cross your mind. This only widens further when you take part in a workshop with a different type of audience than just the people (students) you are comfortable with. So go out there, take that step and go out of your comfort zone, take part in a workshop and speak out every now and then because we all at one point felt shy and nervous to give our thoughts and opinions.


It is the 21st century so it is about time you stop making excuses and push yourself but most of all... GROW!!!!



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

BA (Hons) Fine Art Degree

I wanted to briefly highlight my experiences and thoughts throughout the three years of my study at the University of Chester. At the start of the first year, I was worried and confused, I had 0 confi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page