top of page
Search

Why use and how to use charcoal

I have always felt out of place when using charcoal because I use it differently compared to others. I love using this medium because it is malleable and has the advantage when creating tonal values in your work. I work on a large scale and I could take my time and use charcoal clean but I don't, I see other artists use charcoal to create portraits. With these portraits, they pay attention and create deliberate smudges, it has to be clean, rubbing out is vital but minimal and they create pieces that are exact to the image they are working off.


For me, I have always felt like that limits me, I begin to feel disappointed and worthless when my drawings never turn out how I want them to. I am a messy person, although I like to have a tidy room and kitchen I can't with art. When it comes to my artwork I can never have a tidy space (I am still organised) and I can never be tidy when using charcoal.


I love using it in my own way! I like to be messy so why not include that in my work? so that's what I did. I started with large scale Fabriano paper and I just scribbled the charcoal all over and rubbed it in, then came the workout and I rubbed it all out and my arm was killing me!

This I enjoy though and I understand if others don't but for me, I have always felt courageous and proud when I have done a piece that represents my sweat, determination and tiredness. This is also why music is important to me, if I didn't listen to anything then I would become bored and not as influenced in "working out" with my drawings. The music provides a repeated beat that you can use as an advantage when repeatedly rubbing out or drawing in.


When painting, I worry about making mistakes, I don't have to feel this way with charcoal. I can just rub the charcoal back into the drawing if it is wrong and the outcome is great. The opportunities are endless, your ideas can spring to life and you can have control over the charcoal but also let the charcoal control you if that makes sense.


The tips I would suggest would be to layer, the work you produce (especially with charcoal) could never be finished. You can always work into it and never stop until you know when it is complete but you are still able to add another layer after another. I would also suggest stepping back and observe the drawing. This helps pinpoint areas that are not proportioned properly but also lets you consider negative space and the composition. (This is important in all mediums including charcoal)


Try not to go too wild at the start, I have never been keen on my work throughout each stage, all I see are faults and improvements that need to be made. This feeling is calm when I use charcoal because I know I can fix most issues with just a rub or application of more charcoal. I tend to start with a dark background rather than a clean sheet of Fabriano as it helps the charcoal come together rather than be out of place from the background.


I also love ending the day washing my hands, I like to know the charcoal is in my hair and on my face and that I look a little like a coal miner. It makes the charcoal feel a part of me (I know I sound weird) What I mean is it feels liberating as it shows a day of hard work. I wash my hands and I see not only the charcoal wash away but also my hard work for the day. It is not the same as sitting now and drawing or painting (not that it is bad) I have just felt that I got more from the day, I worked as hard as I could and it shows on me.


The techniques in using charcoal are endless, you can incorporate other materials and that furthers your exploration. From this post, the most important point is to enjoy yourself and find your way in using charcoal. If it's to be clean and pay attention to detail within portraiture then do it! if it's to be wild and free then live it!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

BA (Hons) Fine Art Degree

I wanted to briefly highlight my experiences and thoughts throughout the three years of my study at the University of Chester. At the start of the first year, I was worried and confused, I had 0 confi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page